Skip to content

Book Review – Character is the Key: How to Unlock the Best In Our Children and Ourselves by Sara Dimerman.

October 20, 2009

I was thrilled to be asked by Mom Central to review Character is the Key: How to Unlock the Best In Our Children and Ourselves by Sara Dimerman.

I love to read but generalally I steer clear of parenting books. I was intrigued by the title of this one, however. It got me thinking about what character traits I wanted my kids to have. Of course, I wanted them to be compassionate, considerate and polite but what else?

Sara talks about 10 character traits:

  • Respect
  • Responsibility
  • Honesty
  • Empathy
  • Fairness
  • Initiative
  • Courage
  • Perseverance
  • Optimism
  • Integrity

and then helps families figure out how to achieve them whether the kids are very young or are teenagers.

As I read this book, it got me thinking… Do I demonstrate the character traits that I want my children to have through my words or actions. The phrase “Do as I say, not as I do” immediately came to mind.

Reading this book made me much more aware of what I am demonstrating to my children. They say “Actions speak louder than words” which reminds of a children’s bible song:

O Be Careful Little Eyes

O be careful little eyes what you see
O be careful little eyes what you see
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little eyes what you see



O be careful little ears what you hear
O be careful little ears what you hear
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little ears what you hear


O be careful little hands what you do
O be careful little hands what you do
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little hands what you do


O be careful little feet where you go
O be careful little feet where you go
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little feet where you go


O be careful little mouth what you say
O be careful little mouth what you say
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little mouth what you say

Since little eyes are always watching, I totally agree.

I have one copy of this book to give away to one lucky reader. Simple Leave a comment on this post as to why you could use this book.

Contest closes Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2009 at 12pm Central time.

I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour campaign by Mom Central on behalf of Character Is the Key: How to Unlock the Best in Our Children and Ourselves and received a gift certificate to thank me for taking the time to participate

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kerrie permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:40 pm

    I have 3 boys and I could always use some good advice!kerriekg@yahoo.com

  2. Angela permalink
    October 22, 2009 5:01 pm

    I have a little boy and babysit other kids. I would always like to learn new ideas or get good advice.veniceangel@hotmail.com

  3. Andrea permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:06 pm

    To take away that we should be a little bit of everything not just one of something. A good mix is always best.It would be a great read with good advicea10small@hotmail.com

  4. ~ Cee ~ permalink
    October 26, 2009 7:54 pm

    I'm a first-time mom, and am always looking for ways to teach my daughter character qualities. I want to give my daughter, and future children, the best start possible, and believe that learning all those traits are essential to living a full, happy life. Thank you for this giveaway! ~Cee~ceevegnashville [at] gmail [dot] com

Leave a Reply

