Skip to content

Monday Musings

December 21, 2009
Christmas. One of my favourite times of the year. With the cold weather outside that happens in the part of the world, I love the warm coziness in our home that this season brings.
Before having kids, I loved to curl up on the couch under a cozy blanket, sipping on a cup of warm mulled cranberry, wearing flannel pjs in the dark watching the lights dance on the Christmas tree while listening to Christmas carols playing softly in the backgound. I would even sleep on the couch with the Christmas tree lights on all night.
I don’t get the chance to sit like that much anymore. The closest I get is rocking J while he is memorized by the lights on the tree and (hopefully) being lulled to sleep.
In these quiet moments, I have been thinking about Christmas traditions I would like to have for our family.
Here is my list so far:
Pink salad – a recipe passed down from my Grandmother for a jellied pink salad with pineapple and walnuts

Christmas Eve service – a must, after all, Jesus is the reason for the season

Pjs on Christmas eve – the littles don’t really “get” the present thing yet but they will be allowed to open one gift on Christmas Eve and it will always be pjs

Christmas story read on Christmas Eve – my dad always read the Christmas story from the Bible to us on Christmas Eve – I want DH to do the same for our kids to remind them that Christmas is not all about the gifts

Orange in toe of stocking – a Christmas (mandarin) orange is always tucked into the toe of our stockings

Three gifts – one clothes, one book, one toy – in keeping with Christ’s birth, I want to keep presents to a minimum (even though that is hard when I see things I KNOW the littles would love) – I am going to try hard to limit their gifts to three, like what the wise men brought to Jesus in the stable in Bethlehem

New Christmas decoration each year – I have seen this done elsewhere and I love the idea of buying the littles a new decoration every year and giving them those decorations when the move out on their own… many, many Christmas’ from now
Christmas lights tour – there are some neighbourhoods that go all out with Christmas lights. I want to bundle the littles up and take them for a tour 


Weekly plan – enjoy the Christmas festivities!


One Comment leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 10:11 pm

    Make sure you Dad turns off spike TV while he is reading the Christmas story.

Leave a Reply

