Skip to content

Frugal Friday – Homemade Bread

January 21, 2010
Mmmmm the smell of freshly baked bread. Is it any wonder that supermarkets pump the smell of freshly baked bread into the store and parking areas to entice us to buy.
Some may say – “Who has time to stand there and mix and knead the bread? Isn’t easier to just pick up a loaf at the store?”
I disagree.
Bread is a staple in our house. We go through a lot of it. Buying it at the bakery really adds up after awhile so why not make it at home? But there is no way I am going to stand there to mix and knead it! I don’t have time for that!
We were fortunate enough to get a bread machine for a gift. If you have to buy one, it may not seem like the most frugal option. If that is the case, you can try to find one at a garage sale or ask to receive on as a gift. Shop the sales for one. It will pay for itself in the long term.
 

Here is my new favourite bread recipe for my bread machine.

Whole Wheat Bread (2lb loaf)
1 egg white
Plus enough buttermilk to make 1 ½ cups
Oil or butter ¼ cup
Molasses or honey ¼ cup
Salt 2 tsp
Baking soda ¾ tsp
Whole wheat flour 4 cups
2 ¼ tsp active dry yeast

Place ingredients in order in the bread machine. Set to the Grain setting and walk away! It’s that easy!

Personally, I don’t like the shape of the loaves that come out of my bread machine so I do one more step. Instead of using the Grain setting, I use the Dough setting, divide the dough into 2 and shape the loaves (learn how to shape the perfect loaf here), let rise. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

Now, do you know how to slice bread? Here is a great tutorial.

Mmmmmmmmmm smells like the bread is just about ready! Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:25 pm

    I LOVE homemade bread. You might not believe this, but I am trying out bread recipes today. I am attempting the stand mixer again. If it doesn't work out, I am bookmarking this b/c I am all about my bread machine 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment today!!

  2. Coupon Teacher permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    Looks delicious!

  3. ~Sara permalink
    January 23, 2010 3:10 am

    We love homemade bread. I just made some today!

Leave a Reply

